Join Us on the Journey to a 5G Future!

Media Broadcast’s transmitter site in Nauen, not far from Berlin, is one of the oldest broadcasting transmitters in the world. It is being modernized and upgraded with new, innovative 5G technology.

On this site, we have set up a 5G campus network to function as a proof of concept. Businesses who want to try 5G and test its applications for the first time in a real-life environment can use our test network.

It is not just media firms and event organizers that are being offered a unique opportunity to try 5G and comprehensively test 5G applications on protected frequencies – firms from industry also have a unique opportunity to give it a go. There is a strong focus on applications which will make TV productions easier in future and make use of new features at the same time. For you, that means an independent
5G solution, offering complete flexibility.

We are excited to invite you to help develop and create the perfect 5G applications for you.

The proof of concept is the perfect opportunity for you to share your experiences of 5G and to analyze and test 5G applications. For example, you can measure the bandwidth in order to minimize latency, or set transmission parameters and suitable coding methods. For this purpose, Media Broadcast has put together a 5G engineering team to help plan, set up and operate new 5G campus networks.

We have the knowledge and expertise required for your projects and we cooperate closely with leading professional bodies.

The 5G infrastructure is made up of both an indoor and outdoor area. The 5G core network employed at the site, the „Open5GCore“, was created by the Fraunhofer FOKUS Institute. „Open5GCore“ is fully compatible with 3GPP standards.

The 5G RAN (Radio Access Network) provides a solution that is independent of the core system.

The indoor area consists of Nauen’s large broadcasting hall, while the outdoor area covers a stretch of land surrounding a fire retention pond in front of the building.

Media Broadcast can rely on connections via fiber optics, satellite or public 4G or 5G mobile networks to ensure network connectivity at the site in Nauen, subject to the latency required.

To maximize the 5G potential, we have secured the highest possible bandwidth at Nauen (100 MHz bandwidth in a frequency spectrum of 3.7 to 3.8 GHz) from the Federal Network Agency for the next 10 years.

Fig. 1: The grounds at Nauen, where Media Broadcast has been granted full bandwidth, are approx. 10 km² – the size of approx. 143 football pitches (see the blue shading). We have requested enough frequency for an area of approx. 1 km² (see the green shading).
Fig. 2: The indoor area is made up of an area of approx. 55 m (l) x 37 m (w) x 10 m (h) (see the orange cross) and the outdoor area an area of approx. 10 m x 10 m (see the orange square).
Fig. 3: Antenna mast with a 5G-active outdoor antenna
Fig. 4: Indoor antenna in the broadcasting hall

The 5G Blue Box is the core element of the proof of concept, housing both the 5G standalone core components and the control units for the RAN.

Thanks to the state-of-the-art, easily transportable stand, a 5G campus network can be set up virtually anywhere with a 5G antenna, provided it is within a licensed frequency range. Find out more about our 5G Blue Box at www.media-broadcast.com/5g-blue-box.

5G Technology in Nauen

The Core: 5G Blue Box

5G Blue Box for the TV and Media Production

5G Campus Network for the Industry

Proof of Concept

Why Have We Built a 5G Campus Network on Our Own Site?

Development of Joint Use Cases

Development and testing of use cases for the media sector and the industry. Extending „wireless“ technology to new applications. Standardization of wireless communication.

Frequency Spectrum and Network Capacity

Protection of applications by your own frequency spectrum 3.7 GHz – 3.8 GHz. Sole access to entire bandwidth. Individual use of full spectrum capacity.

Infrastructure and Security

A one-stop shop: technical infrastructure down to the application level. Individual network design to meet your requirements. Data sovereignty and security as well as minimized downtime.

Get Set and Go with This Independent
5G System from Media Broadcast

Contact

Do You Want to Learn More or
Develop Your Own Use Cases with Us?

Have we piqued your interest?
Get in touch!


    FIELDS MARKED WITH * ARE MANDATORY.

    Please contact me by phone.


    Please send me information about the proof of concept in Nauen by Email.

    Impressions

    Impressions of Our Transmitter Site

    Old meets new: the site houses not only 5G technology, but also historical exhibits from broadcasting history within the large broadcasting hall (1000 m2).

    These images may be used, saved, copied or published for journalistic or private uses within the framework of the applicable press and copyright laws, wholly or partially. If the images are published, „Media Broadcast“ should always be clearly referenced as the source.

    5G Technology in Nauen

    The Core: 5G Blue Box

    5G Blue Box for the TV and Media Production

    5G Campus Network for the Industry

    Partner

    The proof of concept was developed with technical support from the following partners:

    History

    The History of Our Transmitter Station

    Nauen Transmitter Station is the oldest continually operating short-wave transmitter in the world. It was first started on 1 April 1906 by Richard Hirsh, an engineer for the German radio and television company Telefunken, at a 40-hectare property north of Nauen which he leased from the estate holder Fritz Stotze. The present antennae were completed in 1964 and 1997, and are 70 and 80.5 meters tall respectively. Until 2011, the station was used to broadcast the Deutsche Welle channel by short wave.

    A new antenna was constructed in Nauen between 1995 and 1997. It is made of four rotating short-wave antennae, constructed by the company Thomcast, and four 500-kilowatt transmitters, which are made by Telefunken Sendertechnik and are all transistor to the output stage. A particular feature of the rotating antennae is that they can rotate freely in all directions. Energy is transferred by means of slip rings. Two of the four antennae have a switching vertical pattern which can reach targets of various distances.

    The transmitter has belonged to Media Broadcast since 2008.

    100 years ago, on 29 September 1920, President of the Reich Friedrich Ebert officially opened the Muthesius-Building (construction began in September 1916).

    The Werkbund architect Hermann Muthesius (1861-1927) was commissioned to construct the largest German industrial project of the time. The requirements for the new building included a machine room to house the large high-frequency machines, rooms for coils and other technical parts, broadcasting and receiving rooms, offices for management and administration and reception areas.

    The style of the exterior was the utmost simplicity with the aim of making the greatest possible impression. The very nature of the site was well-suited to the requirements of such a building, an endless, completely flat surface from which the slender iron towers of the radio station could protrude at tremendous heights, visible from several kilometers around.

    Muthesius was able to achieve this self-imposed goal by building two intersecting sections: one „long“ hall was 20 m wide and 40 m long and the other „cross“ hall was 11 m wide and 55 m long. The existing low transmission station was situated on the left-hand side of the „long“ hall and was replicated on the right-hand side to maintain the symmetry of the whole building.

    Source: Wikipedia and a publication commemorating the ceremonial presentation of the Nauen transmitter station, April 25, 1997

    Download

    German

    To the German Page

    You would like to have this page displayed in German? Then click on the button „To the German Page“ at the bottom.

Gehen Sie gemeinsam mit uns in die
5G Zukunft!

Auf dem Media Broadcast-eigenen Sendegelände in Nauen bei Berlin – eine der ältesten Rundfunk-Sendeanlagen der Welt, findet eine Modernisierung mit der innovativen 5G Technologie statt.

Wir betreiben dort ein 5G Campusnetz als PoC (Proof of Concept). Das Testnetz ist offen für Unternehmen, die erste 5G Anwendungen in einem realen Umfeld untersuchen möchten.

Vor allem Medienunternehmen und Event-Veranstalter, aber auch Unternehmen aus der Industrie, haben in Nauen die einmalige Gelegenheit, 5G Anwendungsszenarien auf geschützten Frequenzen umfassend zu testen. Im Fokus stehen dabei Anwendungen, die zukünftige TV-Produktionen einfacher werden lassen und gleichzeitig neue Features ermöglichen. Das bedeutet für Sie eine unabhängige
5G Lösung mit voller Flexibilität.

Wir laden Sie herzlich dazu ein, mit uns gemeinsam ihre 5G Anwendungen zu entwickeln.

Das Proof of Concept ist die Gelegenheit, um 5G Erfahrungen auszutauschen, zu untersuchen und zu testen z. B. durch Messungen der Bandbreite, zur Minimierung von Latenzen sowie zur Definition von Übertragungsparametern und geeigneter Kodierungsverfahren. Dafür hat Media Broadcast ein 5G Engineering Team zusammengestellt, um 5G Campusnetze zu planen, zu errichten und zu betreiben.

Wir haben die Expertise für Ihre Projekte und arbeiten mit führenden Gremien zusammen.

Die 5G Infrastruktur beinhaltet einen Indoor- und einen Outdoor-Bereich. Das dort verwendete 5G-Kernnetz, der „Open5GCore“, ist eine Lösung vom Fraunhofer-Institut FOKUS. Der „Open5GCore“ ist vollständig kompatibel mit dem 3GPP-Standard.

Als 5G RAN (Radio Access Network) wird eine vom Core-System unabhängige Lösung eingesetzt.

Der Indoor-Bereich umfasst den großen Sendesaal von Nauen, der Outdoor-Bereich ersteckt sich über ein Areal um einen Feuerlöschteich vor dem Gebäude.

Zur Netzanbindung des Standorts Nauen kann Media Broadcast abhängig von der geforderten Latenz auf Verbindungen über Glasfaser, Satellit oder öffentliche 4G oder 5G Mobilfunknetze zurückgreifen.

Um das 5G Potenzial voll ausloten zu können, haben wir das Maximum an möglicher Bandbreite (100 MHz Bandbreite im Frequenzspektrum 3,7 bis 3,8 GHz) für die nächsten zehn Jahre an unserem Standort in Nauen über die Bundesnetzagentur erhalten.

Abb. 1: Das Gelände in Nauen, wo Media Broadcast die volle Bandbreite zugeteilt bekommen hat, umfasst eine Fläche von ca. 10 km² – eine Größe von ca. 143 Fußfelder (siehe blaue Markierung). Die Frequenz wurde für ein Areal von ca. 1 km² beantragt (siehe grüne Markierung).
Abb. 2: Der Indoor-Bereich umfasst eine Fläche von ca. 55 m (l) x 37 m (w) x 10 m (h) (siehe orangenes Kreuz) und der Outdoor-Bereich eine Fläche von ca. 10 m x 10 m (siehe orangenes Rechteck)
Abb. 3: Antennenmast mit der 5G aktiven Outdoorantenne
Abb. 4: Indoor Antenne im Sendesaal

Die „Schaltzentrale“ des PoC bildet die 5G Blue Box, in der sowohl die 5G Standalone Core-Komponenten als auch die Steuereinheiten für das RAN untergebracht sind.

Mit dem einfach zu transportierenden und innovativ gestalteten Rack kann in Verbindung mit einer 5G Antenne an nahezu jedem Ort ein 5G Campusnetz in einem lizenzierten Frequenzbereich errichtet werden. Für weitere Informationen zu unserer 5G Blue Box besuchen Sie www.media-broadcast.com/5g-blue-box. 

5G Technologie in Nauen

5G Blue-Box - Schaltzentrale für Ihr Campusnetz

5G Blue-Box für die TV- und Medienproduktion

5G Campusnetze für die Industrie

Proof of Concept

Warum ein 5G Campusnetz auf eigenem Gelände?

Entwicklung gemeinsamer Use Cases

Entwicklung und Prüfung von Use Cases für die Medienbranche und die Industrie. Ausweitung der Drahtlos-Technologie auf neue Anwendungen. Standardisierung der drahtlosen Kommunikation.

Frequenzspektrum und Netzkapazität

Absicherung der Anwendungen durch eigenes Frequenzspektrum von 3,7 GHz bis 3,8 GHz. Alleiniger Zugriff auf die volle Netzkapazität. Individuelle Nutzung und volle Kapazität des Spektrums.

Infrastruktur und Sicherheit

Alles aus einer Hand: Technische Infra­struktur bis hin zur Anwendungs­ebene.Individuelles Netz­design gemäß eigener Anforderungen. Daten­hoheit und Sicherheit sowie Minimierung von Ausfallzeiten.

Plan, Build, Run mit einer unabhängigen Lösung von Media Broadcast

Kontakt

Möchten Sie mehr erfahren oder mit uns Use Cases entwickeln?

Haben wir Ihr Interesse geweckt?
Nehmen Sie mit uns Kontakt auf!


    Die mit einem * markierten Felder sind Pflichtfelder.

    Bitte rufen Sie mich an.


    Bitte senden Sie mir Infomaterial per E-Mail zum Proof of Concept in Nauen zu.

    Impressionen

    Eindrücke von unserem Sendegelände

    Historie trifft Moderne: Nicht nur die 5G Technologie, sondern auch historische Ausstellungsstücke aus dem Bereich Rundfunk sind im großen Sendesaal (1000 m2) untergebracht.

    Die bereitgestellten Bilder dürfen zu publizistischen oder privaten Zwecken im Rahmen des geltenden Presse- und Urheberrechts ganz oder ausschnittsweise verwendet, gespeichert oder vervielfältigt bzw. veröffentlicht werden. Bei der Veröffentlichung der Bilder ist als Quelle stets „Media Broadcast“ deutlich anzugeben.

    5G Technologie in Nauen

    5G Blue Box - Schaltzentrale für Ihr Campusnetz

    5G Blue Box für die TV- und Medienproduktion

    5G Campusnetze für die Industrie

    Partner

    Das Proof of Concept entstand mit fachlicher Unterstützung der folgenden Partner:

    Historie

    Die Historie unserer Sendestelle

    Die Großfunkstelle Nauen ist die älteste noch bestehende Sendeanlage für Kurzwelle der Welt. Sie wurde am 1. April 1906 vom Telefunken-Ingenieur Richard Hirsch ins Leben gerufen, indem er nördlich von Nauen vom Fideikommissar Fritz Stotze aus Neukammer ein 40 Hektar großes Grundstück pachtete. Die heutigen Sendeantennen wurden 1964 und 1997 fertiggestellt und sind 70 Meter und 80,5 Meter hoch. Die Station diente bis 2011 der Ausstrahlung des Programms der Deutschen Welle über Kurzwelle.

    Von 1995 bis 1997 wurde in Nauen eine neue Antennenanlage errichtet. Sie besteht aus vier drehbaren Kurzwellenantennen der Firma Thomcast und vier 500-Kilowatt-Sendern, die von der Firma Telefunken Sendertechnik gefertigt wurden und bis auf die Endstufe volltransistorisiert sind. Als Besonderheit erlauben die drehbaren Antennen unlimitierte Rotation in alle Richtungen. Die Energieübertragung erfolgt dabei mittels Schleifringe. Zwei der vier Antennen haben ein umschaltbares Vertikaldiagramm für unterschiedlich weit entfernte Zielgebiete.

    Seit 2008 gehört die Sendeanlage dem Unternehmen Media Broadcast. Weitere Informationen zum Standort Nauen sowie zu KW-Sendernetze.

    Vor 100 Jahren – am 29. September 1920 – weihte Reichspräsident Friedrich Ebert den Muthesius-Bau ein (Baubeginn September 1916).

    Beauftragt mit dem größten deutschen Industriebau jener Zeit wurde der Werkbund-Architekt Hermann Muthesius (1861 – 1927). Anforderungen an das neue Gebäude umfassten eine Maschinenhalle für die großen Hochfrequenzmaschinen, Standräume für Spulen und andere technische Betriebsteile, Sende- und Empfängerräume, Unterbring der Verwaltung und Repräsentationsräume.

    Für die äußere Gestaltung des Gebäudes galt als Leitsatz äußerste Einfachheit und Erstrebung eines möglichst großen Gesamteindrucks. Einen solchen zu fordern, ergab sich schon aus der Natur des Bauplatzes, einer endlosen, völlig flachen Ebene, aus der im Umkreis von mehreren Kilometern die schlanken Eisentürme der Funkstation in gewaltiger Höhe herausragen.

    Muthesius erreichte diesen selbst gestellten Anspruch, indem er zwei sich kreuzende Gebäudeteile baute, wobei die Längshalle eine Spannweite von 20 m bei einer Länge von 40 m, die Querhalle eine Spannweite von 11 m bei einer Länge von 55 m umfasste. Das vorhandene niedrige Senderhaus schloss sich an die linke Seite der Längshalle an und wurde, der Symmetrie des Gebäudekomplexes entsprechend, auf der rechten Seite reproduziert.

    Quelle: Wikipedia und Festschrift zur feierlichen Präsentation der Sendestelle Nauen, 25. April 1997

    Download

    English

    To the English Page

    You would like to have this page displayed in English? Then click on the button „To the English Page“ at the bottom.